Interview with Jade Varden (author of the Deck of Lies series)

Woohoo! My first author interview(: After I read Jade Varden’s book Justice (Deck of Lies #1) I asked her if she was interested for an interview and she agreed! So I would like to welcome you Jade Varden author of the Deck of Lies series.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Jade Varden is a teller of tales from Louisville, Kentucky. The Deck of Lies series is the first in several young adult series and stand-alone novels Jade will publish in 2012 and 2013.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Q: Justice is the first book of the Deck of Lies series, can you tell us a little bit about it?

Sure I’d be happy to! In Justice, readers will meet Rain Ramey. What’s interesting is that she’ll be meeting herself, too, because Rain finds out right away that she isn’t the person she thought she was. She’s someone else, and now she has to face all the consequences of having a brand-new life. It seems wonderful at first – clothes, car, fancy place to live. But under all the pretty polish, Rain’s new world is built on a shaky foundation of deception and secrets.

Q: How did you come up with the story?

I was inspired by “what if.” What if you were taken away from a loving, pretty normal family and put into a brand-new world? What if that world is completely corrupt, and you can’t trust anyone in it? What if you can’t figure out who you are anymore? It all just grew from me asking questions like this, and thinking about this world.

Q: Was there a time that you began to feel frustrated while writing it?

Certainly! I had a lot of difficulty with all of Carsyn’s scenes, and throughout writing the series I still do. Carsyn is a very complicated character, and it’s hard for me to get in her mindset to write her scenes.

Q: Which character in the book Justice (Deck of Lies #1) did you felt most attached to?

While I was writing Justice, I would have to say River. Maybe that’s because I knew bad things were going to happen to him.

Q: I really like the series’ title, how did you come up with it?

Rain’s mom inspired it. I knew that Tarot was going to be one of her many hobbies, and the book was already built around the theme of justice and re-balancing the scales. I decided that every book would have its own theme with its own Tarot card. And since  lies and secrets are the main theme in the entire series, I just married the two together.

Q: What is your favorite part about writing a book?

Getting to the end! Nothing beats the feeling of actually finishing that first draft, because then the hard part’s over.

Q: While you’re away from the pen and paper, what else do you like to do?

I’m a big gamer, actually. I’m always playing on a console or on my computer when I’m not working.

Q: Do you have any message for your fans and readers out there?

Yes! Keep an eye on my blog for updates about Judgment, the final book in the series, and everything else related to the Deck of Lies.

xxx

Thank you so much Jade! Check out my review of Justice here

1 Response to “Interview with Jade Varden (author of the Deck of Lies series)”


  1. 1 Nobonita@Daydreaming Bookworm August 17, 2012 at 7:44 AM

    Hi!Found you on goodreads.New follower!Would love a follow back here: http://perrytheplatypus1102-3daydreamer3.blogspot.com

    Thanks in advance! 🙂


Leave a comment




Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,558 other subscribers
Follow on Bloglovin