New Year’s Resolution for 2015


Happy New Year everyone! I can’t believe it’s already 2015. Time flies by so fast! I hope everyone had an awesome Christmas and New Year. I just wanted to share my book and blog resolutions. Feel free to share yours in the comments. I’d love to hear what your goals are (bookish or not) for 2015. Here are my goals:

1. Post at least twice a week. I slacked off so much this year especially when fall started. I think I posted like twice a month lol. I know for sure that I won’t be able to post every day since I will be busy, but I think twice a week is definitely possible since I feel pumped up and ready to compose some posts.

2. Lower down my tbr pile (both ARCs and books I bought) to 20 books by the end of this year (10 of the books I bought, 10 ARCs).  Yikes, let’s see how this goes!

3. Don’t buy new books unless I need it in order to finish a series. I was pretty good with this resolution last year (I think I only bought around 10 books). I haven’t felt like buying books for a long time (even now) so I think I can really do this!

That’s pretty much it. I’ve been doing really good with commenting other people’s blogs, not forcing myself to read books I don’t feel like reading, and embracing reading/blogging slumps. Lowering down my tbr pile is my main goal this year.

38 Responses to “New Year’s Resolution for 2015”


  1. 1 Mitchii @ The Aeropapers G. January 1, 2015 at 7:53 AM

    Nice ones! I just promised myself to read 52 books this year. I also need to lower my TBR pile from last year. So much thing for us to do! >.<

  2. 3 Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life January 1, 2015 at 5:25 PM

    You have some really solid goals here, Leigh! Posting on a regular basis is a really big goal of mine this year- like you, I REALLY slacked off last year and I refuse to let that happen this year! I think I’m also aiming for 2-3. I feel like that’s enough to establish a presence, but not super overwhelming either.

    Oh man, I really wish I could get by TBR down to only 20 books… that’s like physically impossible for me. I hope you’re able to achieve it though, because it sounds awesome! ❤

    I hope you have a wonderful 2015!!

    • 4 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 1, 2015 at 5:50 PM

      Yeah! I think posting every day is too much work and very time consuming. If I get my tbr pile down to 20 books, then I can finally buy more books. I’m trying to resist buying books until I get that number down. 🙂 Thanks Aneeqah and I hope you had a great new year’s!

  3. 5 kezia1098 January 1, 2015 at 8:51 PM

    Happy new year, Leigh!! ^^ May all your hopes and resolutions come true! Tackling your TBR pile might seem intimidating but I’m sure you’ll do well! Posting more consistently is also a nice goal I wish you luck in this! I slacked off a lot last year as well, but let’s see how this year goes lol.

  4. 7 Sydney January 1, 2015 at 11:48 PM

    I love your New Year’s resolutions, especially the not buying books unless you absolutely have to. I’m going to make more of an effort to only buy books by my favorite authors, or to only buy books I’ve read and absolutely loved. Even though I work in a bookstore and get a wonderful discount, I hate that I *still* spend a ton of money on books and some of them remain unread. So I’m joining you on that resolution. ;D

    Ha, I need to shrink my TBR pile too. Good luck to us both! It’s hard when new books are announced practically everyday. SIGH.

    Here’s to a wonderful and book-filled 2015. ❤

  5. 9 Aimee January 2, 2015 at 1:58 AM

    Best if luck, Leigh! I was a pretty unproductive blogger, too, this year, even with cobloggers! I even made myself a blogging schedule (which I didn’t follow). 😦 And whoa to not buying books! Not sure if I can do that. ;P

    • 10 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 4, 2015 at 5:38 PM

      Yeah I’m not good with the blogging schedule stuff anymore so I’m just aiming to post at random days per week but it has to be at least twice. Haha you can do it! Every time you want to buy a book, just imagine all those sad looking books sitting on your shelf wanting to be read… I hope that works 😛

  6. 11 Megan (Adrift on Vulcan) January 2, 2015 at 7:18 AM

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, LEIGH!!! I can’t believe it either; 2014 went by way too quickly, but I’m kind of glad that it’s over, because it was one hell of a year for me, haha. But anyways, those are some great resolutions! I need to post more often these days, too, but I don’t know, I feel like I enjoy blogging a lot better when I don’t have to force myself to post. Then again, I’m a seriously disorganized (and lazy :|) person, so that could just be my lazy side speaking. xD

    And gosh, I really need to lower my tbr pile as well. I went on a huge requesting spree last year, and now I’m stuck with all the ARCs and none of the motivation. God help me. Good luck to both of us, because I have a feeling we’re going to need it. O_O

    Welp, all the best with these goals of yours, and here’s to an awesome 2015! *throws confetti*

  7. 13 Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) January 2, 2015 at 10:41 PM

    These are some great resolutions, Leigh! Wow, I would die if I could only buy 10 books, so kudos to you for doing it last year! I wish I could do that .-. I’m definitely with you on lowering my TBR pile. I definitely will have to stop checking EW for Harper titles since I download them like there’s no tomorrow, hah.

    • 14 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 4, 2015 at 5:44 PM

      I know! I just didn’t feel like reading last year so I didn’t felt like buying any books either even though bookoutlet had all those crazy sales! Lol HC has an endless amount of eARCs! I just download them all so that if I feel like reading one of their books in the future, I already have it.

  8. 15 Wattle January 3, 2015 at 5:33 AM

    Happy New Year! Great resolutions Leigh, they all sound completely achievable, good luck with them throughout the year! 🙂

  9. 17 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence January 4, 2015 at 1:17 AM

    Happy New Year Leigh! I can definitely see so many new goals to be to read books on your shelf instead of constantly buying the new, and also book buying bans as well! I’m going to be doing something similar as well.

  10. 19 Lauren @ Lose Time Reading January 4, 2015 at 1:29 PM

    TBR Piles seem to be the big thing for 2015, that’s amazing that you want to have yours down to 20 books! I have the same goal for buying new books 🙂 I hope you get all your goals achieved!!!

  11. 25 Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination January 4, 2015 at 2:28 PM

    Great goals, and good luck with accomplishing them! I want to post 2 or 3 times a week, too, and start scheduling my posts more. I’ve actually been really productive the last few days and have scheduled almost all of January. I’m sure it will give me more time to focus on commenting.

  12. 27 kimyunalesca January 4, 2015 at 10:59 PM

    Happy 2015! I’d like to reduce my tbr as well goodluck to us! \_/ \_/ cheers!

  13. 29 Bec (@bectineus) January 5, 2015 at 12:40 AM

    These are nice resolutions! Challenging, but not too hard. Mine a pretty similar, especially when it comes to the tbr and buying books.

    Good luck with your goals!

  14. 31 Jess@MyReadingDress January 5, 2015 at 12:25 PM

    Happy New Year, love! And look at those resolutions! Good luck! I don’t really have any, just because I suck with resolutions and keeping to them. But I will try to maintain 3 posts a week, that much I know. How I will do it is beyond me though hahaha

  15. 33 Ashley @The Quiet Concert January 5, 2015 at 4:13 PM

    Nice resolutions, not buying any books really… that is really impressive! I am terrible, especially with amazon daily deals!

  16. 35 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity January 8, 2015 at 7:17 PM

    I like your resolutions, Leigh!

    I really want to cut down on my book buying. I think 2014 was my worst year yet for buying books. I bought SO many and I haven’t even really read any of them. I’ve challenged myself to only buy one book a month, because I know I would break a complete book buying ban. I’ll see how I go, I guess! I really want to stick to it, though, because of money + reading books I own.

    • 36 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 10, 2015 at 1:58 PM

      Thanks! Aww well, you can try again this year 😀 That’s a good goal! I think you could totally do it since you’re not completely stopping yourself from buying books. I think 1 book a month is a reasonable & realistic goal. Good luck!

  17. 37 Nara January 12, 2015 at 12:11 AM

    Yikes, lowering your TBR to 20 books! That’s going to be tough! I feel like mine has just been getting worse and worse since I started blogging, especially because of the review copies from the publishers. Not that I really mind, I guess! I just let it run free 😛

    • 38 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 12, 2015 at 1:16 AM

      I know! I feel crazy doing it haha but I have to so that in 2016, I can just buy a book without feeling guilty. I can just purchase it and read it instantly. No more books waiting on my shelf! The hard part is, resisting temptation 😦


Leave a comment




Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,558 other subscribers
Follow on Bloglovin