Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905 Genre: YA Contemporary
Published: September 10, 2013 by St. Martin’s Press
Length: 433 pages
Source: bought

CATH IS A SIMON SNOW FAN. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan… But for Cath, being a fan is her life–and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fanfiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath that she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend; a fiction-writing professor who thinks fanfiction is the end of the civilized world; a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words…and she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

review

Honestly, I was scared to read this book because I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to relate to the story since I don’t fangirl. This book definitely lived up to the hype though! Fangirl is an amazing book about a girl named Cath who enjoys writing Simon Snow fanfiction. What I loved about this book besides the funny and likable characters, swoony romance, and family relationships is that it really inspired me to write. I have NEVER thought about writing; I’ve always thought I was a reader and not a writer. The fact that Rainbow Rowell’s writing influenced me to probably also major in English means that her writing is very powerful. She made me realize through Cath how writing is an amazing journey; it might have its downs like getting a writer’s block etc. but being able to create these amazing characters and have readers craving for more is an awesome feeling.

I really liked Cath. I haven’t read a book with a memorable character for quite some time now so I’m happy to say she’s one of the fictional characters I’ll never forget. She’s funny, awkward, smart, and responsible. She has a twin named Wren and between them, Wren is more outgoing, careless, irresponsible, and independent. I actually like how the author thought of their names – Catherine (Cather & Wren) GET IT!? I thought that was epic *mindblown*. I also like Cath’s roomate, Reagan. She was hilarious and she’s not afraid to say her opinion on things. There is also family involved which I liked!

For the romance, I loved it. That’s all I’m going to say. You have to find out how the romance builds on because it’s really cute!

Although it’s a 400 pgs. book, it’s a really quick read because of the witty characters and great writing style. The only thing I didn’t like is how during the last page of each chapter, there is a snippet of either Cath’s fanfiction or the actual Simon Snow story. I didn’t like it because I couldn’t relate to either Simon or Baz (the main characters in Cath’s fanfiction) since random scenes were dropped from the story.

I thought the ending was such a cliffhanger! When I saw the acknowledgements page, I was like “NO!? IT’S OVER!?”. Overall this book is a great read if you’re looking for something light. I definitely recommend it especially if you’re going into college since Cath is telling the story when she’s in her first year in university (both fall and spring semester).

4 of 5

21 Responses to “Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell”


  1. 1 Mitchii @ The Aeropapers February 10, 2015 at 6:35 AM

    I was the opposite I thought I can relate to it because I’m a huge fangirl, but alas I didn’t. I started it, then put it on-hold, then tried again. But I just couldn’t. Good thing you liked it; it’s such a nice feeling to experience the same hype as the others. 😀

    • 2 Leigh (LittleBookStar) February 13, 2015 at 4:16 PM

      aww maybe next time? That happened to me with 172 Hours on the Moon. I picked it up twice and I couldn’t get into it, but when I picked it up the third time which was recently, I flew through it and absolutely loved it.

  2. 3 kezia1098 February 10, 2015 at 7:42 AM

    Awww I’m glad that you loved Fangirl, Leigh! I had wanted to read this book at some point (the hype was pretty crazyyy!) but I guess now I don’t think this book will work for me. I mean, I do write fanfiction and I am most definitely a fangirl but gradually my interest in reading it keeps waning…(?)

  3. 5 Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination February 10, 2015 at 4:46 PM

    I’ve always been a writer and a reader, so Fangirl didn’t really inspire me to start writing, but I’m glad it inspired you. I wasn’t really a big fan of Fangirl. I thought Cath was a really relatable and realistic character, but there were other elements that I didn’t like. For example, I did not like the romance in this book. It was like a love web,and it really got on my nerves. I also didn’t like some of the choices that Cath made. I wanted to scream at her that she was okay the way she was, and in some areas she did not need to change. I guess contemporary YA isn’t for me…

  4. 7 Bee February 10, 2015 at 6:53 PM

    I reviewed this book too and thought the same thing. I liked the parts about Cath and Wren but I was kind of bored by the Simon Snow parts. ❤ Bee

  5. 9 Nara February 11, 2015 at 4:10 AM

    It’s funny, because one of my favourite aspects of the book were actually the Carry On snippets! So I was really excited when Rainbow Rowell announced that she was going to be publishing the full story of Carry On (so meta haha)

  6. 11 Irish February 11, 2015 at 7:08 AM

    I love this book too! Like you, I was reluctant of reading this because I’m really not the type of person who enjoys reading chick lit. I got this free in Audible and when I noticed that I was enjoying listening to the story, I bought a paperback copy too the next day to read it!

  7. 13 Laura @ canido52 February 15, 2015 at 11:23 PM

    I’ve just finished this book and really didn’t realise it was over 400 pages! It wasn’t a bad read but i loved Eleanor and Park so much more.
    Happy reading

  8. 15 Benish K February 16, 2015 at 8:27 PM

    I’ve read FanGirl before .. It wasn’t as good as I would have liked. I really do like your review though, and I’m glad you could enjoy it 🙂

  9. 17 Nicole @ The Quiet Concert February 17, 2015 at 4:37 PM

    I LOVED this book SO MUCH which was such a pleasant surprise because I didn’t care for E&P. This book has one of my favorite father-daughter relationships – her dad cracked me up! And I love how Rainbow Rowell inspired you to write. There is such power in words! Lovely review!

  10. 19 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity February 18, 2015 at 7:16 PM

    Oh, wow! It’s so awesome that FANGIRL had such an effect on you, Leigh! It’s pretty incredible that it has inspired you to write.

    I felt FANGIRL really connected to me because of being a writer (and a fanfic writer), so I am really happy that this wasn’t lost on you 😀

    I did feel like the ending was left SO open, but I guess that is indicative of life itself, right? But I liked the epilogue thing of Cath’s writing, because it kind of showed what happened after everything.

  11. 20 cuciereads February 22, 2015 at 3:32 AM

    I didn’t expect to like Fangirl either. I have to confess that the only reason I read it was that I saw it in a book store and was attracted to the color, then some nights later I dreamt that I wanted to read it. I’m no person to defy my dreams wiseness. 😉

    I loved this book! I’m glad you did too 🙂 Great review.

    Cucie @ Cucie reads


Leave a comment




Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,558 other subscribers
Follow on Bloglovin