Review: Strangers in the Gale (Children of the Three Suns #1) by Joe Occhipinti

Genre: YA Sci-Fi
Published: January 27, 2012 by Createspace
Series: #1 (Children of the Three Suns)
Length: 298 pages
Source: author (review copy)
Amazon | Goodreads | Website

An unconscious girl found on a clump of floating kelp radically complicates Bernardo’s life. By all accounts, Ondas is supposed to be uninhabited. Why is the League government hiding the existence of the seafarers? In his quest for answers, the young biologist becomes entangled in a broader conflict that is about to take a recently colonized world to war. Bernardo is swept into a secret world of rebellion and espionage, and uncovers a genocidal policy by his government directed against the child’s aboriginal culture. On this water world fraught with ubiquitous storms, Bernardo, a few of his colleagues, two enslaved technicians, and an enigmatic mystic fight for the girl’s survival and that of her people, discovering a long-forgotten truth that will shake the foundations of worlds.” – Goodreads

review
Craving for adventure? Looking for a little bit of romance? Yup this book has it. When I received Strangers in the Gale, the first thing I had in mind was “woah, it’s quite lengthy”.  But I’m glad it is because it’s the right length for this story. Also it is not what I normally read but I’m glad I gave it a chance! It is out of this world! It’s just amazing! I’m so glad I did not let the opportunity pass to review this book. I kept the pace of reading 50 pages a day and I ended up reading a couple of pages more than that. You know what that means.. PAGE TURNER BOOK! And look at that cover, isn’t it beautiful!?

The characters in the book are all significant! You won’t see any ‘hi-bye’ characters in there (hi-bye characters TURNS ME OFF -_-). They are all important and contribute something to the story. I also like how as the story progresses, the characters develop and becomes confident and determined more than ever! You can totally see how they improve/change as a person.

For the writing style. I LOVE IT. It switches from one perspective, then it will switch to another character’s perspective but it isn’t confusing at all. Besides all the adventure, there is a little twist with the romance part. I did not find it cheesy or corny; I thought it was cute!

Some parts were a little bit confusing though. The actions and battles were kind of hard for me to picture in my head and I felt like some of the battle scenes were sort of rushed. There were also typos here and there in the book. The whole plot was great and while reading, I was like PLEASE, SOMEONE, MAKE THIS INTO A MOVIE. I recommend this to all sci-fi lovers or if you want to get out of your “reading comfort zone” try this out!

0 Responses to “Review: Strangers in the Gale (Children of the Three Suns #1) by Joe Occhipinti”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

