July 2015 Wrap Up

wrap up

Here is my wrap up post for July which consists of all the books I read during this month as well as some blog updates, books Iโ€™m currently reading, and stuff that happened outside of my reading + blogging time.

booksread

2461253324331435245291231739916015813652120932694821421865261

I consider this a pretty successful reading month! I usually read like 3 books per month or even NOTHING so 8 books is awesome! My favorite read would have to be The Percy Jackson series because this is my FIRST TIME binge reading a series (I read Sea of Monsters during the last week of June). My least favorite would be Snow Like Ashes unfortunately. Please let me know how YOUR month was down in the comments!

update

If you didn’t know, my blog turned 3 years old this month (July 29 to be exact)!!! YASSSS. Because of that, there is a twitter giveaway and a blog giveaway for you guys because you are all amazing and I’m so happy to talk to other book lovers. Also, my summer resolution is going great so far blogging wise because I have been posting 2 blog posts per week and I think I’m actually going to stick with it for a long time since I already scheduled posts for the month of August. *Pats myself on the back*.

School is going to start on August 24th so I might not be on here or Twitter as often. Crossing my fingers I won’t go MIA like last time… I’ll try my best!

As for readathons…I completely failed both of them which were the #Cramathon and the Make Me Read It Readathon hahaha (I saw that coming though).

I’m a VERY moody reader and I just didn’t feel like reading those books, guys. I’m sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ . I did read 1 book during the #Cramathon which is Snow Like Ashes (mehhhh) and 1 book during the Make Me Read It readathon which is The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall… and itย was a fantastic read! I promise I’ll read the books that won the poll during August guys! If not feel free to smack me. Jk.

mylife

July was really awesome! I went to California City, Lake Arrowhead, and Big Bear and it was lots of fun! I thought I would get a lot of reading done while traveling BUT NOPE. I only finished 1 book which was The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall. Funny story. The beach house that we stayed in while we were at Lake Arrowhead was really creepy like the asylum in the book so I really felt ALL THE FEELS that the main character was going through. I love reading experiences when it’s like that…when you’re in a similar setting/situation just like the character in the book!

I also signed up for my fall semester classes this month and it was SO STRESSFUL let me tell ya -_-. First of all, I’m an incoming sophomore at college and sophomores get LAST PRIORITY to register for classes (yippeeeee..not). Second, my major is impacted so when I went online to look for classes..THEY WERE ALL FREAKIN CLOSED. I was so pissed and so I called the department and asked them to open more classes and they were like oh we’re low on budget yada-yada-yada and I’m just like why are you enrolling all these students then if you can’t get us classes!?

After a couple of days & refreshing the online page every hour, I got lucky when I saw a new computer science class up and immediately enrolled to that damn class because I want to graduate on time! I don’t even care if the professor is good or not…the struggle to getting into a class is REAL.

Wow that was kind of long. Sorry guys, but that’s what basically happened to me during July…reading, blogoversary, vacations, and not taking my eyes off of my college’s website to get into classes.

Let me know how was YOUR month! Did you do anything exciting or had a hard time signing up for classes like I did? Which books are you currently anticipating?

23 Responses to “July 2015 Wrap Up”


  1. 1 Megan (เธ‡๏ธก'-'๏ธ )เธ‡ July 31, 2015 at 11:44 PM

    Yay for reading more books than usual! 8 books is AWESOME. I only managed to get through like two this month… even though both of them were pretty thick, eheh. (It was Daughter of Smoke & Bone and Days of Blood & Starlight.) YASSSSS, I am SO happy that you loved Percy Jackson! Seriously, that series is right up there alongside Harry Potter, that’s how much I love it! I miss Percy and Annabeth so much. We don’t get to see a lot of them in the new Olympus series. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Are you planning to read that one?? And ugh, sorry that you didn’t really like Snow Like Ashes. I’ve only been hearing really good things about it and I have a long overdue ARC in my Kindle (pretty much every ARC in there is overdue, oops), but now I’m wondering if I should start it…

    Ooh, we’ll be starting school around the same time! Orientation starts August 28 for me and yeah, after six+ months of not studying and having a lot of free time on my hands, I’m worried about how I’m going to be able to handle everything again. I’ll be crossing my fingers for the both of us!! Ugh, it’s unfair that sophomores are prioritized last in your college. O_O Hoping everything works out for you in the end, though. For me I’m more worried about the fact that I have to sign up for classes in the first place; where I come from the school plans out aaaaalll your classes, lol. IT ALL SOUNDS SO CONFUSING.

    Here’s to a happy and hopefully not-too-busy August!!

    • 2 Leigh @ Little Book Star August 2, 2015 at 4:35 PM

      Oh man those ARE long books! I don’t think I’ll ever read them though even though Katytastic on Youtube raves about them like crazy. Paranormal doesn’t appeal to me anymore for some reason.

      YES HP and PJ are like way up there because they’re both series that one would always remember. Aw shoot, that sucks we won’t get to see them that much in the spin off ๐Ÿ˜ฅ I hope the new characters are amazing!

      Yeah I’m a blacksheep for Snow Like Ashes haha. Maybe still give it a go since lots of people liked it. Wooohooo Goodluck in college!!! Orientation was awesome for me. Met some new friends and we ended up getting lost in the engineering building during the campus tour lmfao. Make tons of friends and just have fun ^_^
      That’s awesome though that your school plans your schedule! You don’t have to worry about having a class closed or being behind just b/c you can’t get into a class.

  2. 3 Isha @ Two Sisters' Bloggin August 1, 2015 at 8:25 AM

    Same, I usually read very little books because my schedule for school never gives me free time *sad eyes emoji* Now that you’ve read PJO, you have to read Blood of Olympus too heh!

    Congrats on 3 years of blogging, that’s long compared to mine aha! I’ve only been blogging for a month and two weeks hahah

    I’m sorry you had a hard time getting classes this fall! Luckily I don’t have to go through that much stress because I’m still on my sixth year, the last year of high school (Ireland has a weird school system)

    Which books I’m anticipating? Definitely Queen of Shadows and Magnus Chase. What are yours?

    • 4 Leigh @ Little Book Star August 2, 2015 at 4:31 PM

      I haven’t read the spin off series ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’m thinking to binge read it next summer if ever I’m in the mood ๐Ÿ˜€ #moodreaderprobs

      Thanks Isha! Woohoo welcome to the blogosphere ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m really excited to read more of your posts b/c I just discovered your fabulous blog.

      That’s awesome! I hope you enjoy your last year of HS and good luck in college ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s def. better than HS in my opinion because you choose the classes blah blah blah.

      I’m anticipating for Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall! I looooved her first book A Little Something Different ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 5 Faye (@kawaiileena) August 1, 2015 at 9:10 PM

    Wow, it sucks that you guys get a hard time enrolling in your classes! Makes our online registration in our university sound like a roll in the park because the department ensures each of their students have classes to enroll in (some of them already pre-enrolled). I hope that the computer science class will be an amazing class for you and you get to learn a lot of new things.

    And yay for the 8 books read! I’ve been slowing down so much, too, and it surprises me when I even manage to read more than 5 a month. Makes me miss the early days where I was always 30 books ahead in my GR challenge… now I’m 4 books behind! EEP >_>

    Anticipating a lot of books, but pretty excited now for Queen of Shadows!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    • 6 Leigh @ Little Book Star August 2, 2015 at 4:12 PM

      WOW I’m so jealous! Your university rocks! I hate mine because I think they just keep on accepting students even though the majors are already impacted GRRRR. I hope so too! It’ll definitely be a difficult year, I can already feel it D: but I hope I don’t get a sucky professor. Hahaha same about the GR challenge. I used to be always ahead, but ever since I started college, I’ve been falling behind.

  4. 7 Sydney August 1, 2015 at 10:03 PM

    It’s funny because you JUST reminded me to check my waitlist position in my English 102 class…and I’m still waiting at #1. D: I was previously #2, but I’m glad to know that I still have a few more weeks before class starts. I’m crossing my fingers that someone will drop out. EVERY ENGLISH 102 CLASS IS CLOSED. Ugh. The only one that is open is on the Airforce Base and I don’t have clearance. So I’m crossing my fingers like you did haha.

    Tbh, I don’t pay much attention to professors. Maybe I will in later years, but right now I care more about the times because of my work schedule + distance from school. I would rather have a great time and a decent professor than a great professor and really bad time. Know what I mean? This’ll change at some point but for now…

    Ah, Snow Like Ashes. I have an ARC of Ice Like Fire but I’m not THAT excited for SFA so I haven’t picked it up. I feel like I should though because ILF is such a much-wanted ARC that I’d like to give it away to someone who wants it!

    • 8 Leigh @ Little Book Star August 2, 2015 at 4:14 PM

      Being the first on the waitlist is good though! I’m certain you’ll get in. In my political science class I was waitlist #4 and I finally got in last week! ๐Ÿ˜€

      That’s true. I’m going to be working while being a full time student too so I’m like “who cares” with the professors. I used to be picky during my freshmen year but now I’m like whatever about it.

      I have an ARC of ILF too but ehhhhhh SLA was meh…

  5. 9 Cait @ Paper Fury August 2, 2015 at 4:22 AM

    Ohh, good luck with your college!! THAT SOUNDS NERVE WRACKING AND A LITTLE EXCITING. *nods* I think it’d stress me out so much. gah. Ahhh, I had an excellent reading month. Did you like Dumplin?! I loved it! I wasn’t a fan of the romance (it just confused me. >_< so much miscommunication!) but I did so so love the feminism.

    • 10 Leigh @ Little Book Star August 2, 2015 at 4:17 PM

      I really enjoyed reading Dumplin’! It was an interesting and easy read. The MC kind of annoyed me at times but it was a pretty good read ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m glad you loved it! Oooh the romance tsk tsk I wasn’t a fan of it either.

  6. 11 Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) August 2, 2015 at 4:35 AM

    YAYYYYY so happy to hear how much you are enjoying Percy Jackson! I think I’m going to be rereading those books sometime soon. And omg best of luck with college!! I cannot imagine how stressful all of that can be.

    Here’s to a fab August! <33

  7. 13 thesepaperhearts August 2, 2015 at 6:18 PM

    Bummer you didn’t enjoy Snow Like Ashes. I’ve seen mixed reviews for that one though. My sister loved The Percy Jackson series! Are you planning to read The Heroes of Olympus series next?

    Happy blogoversary! Sounds like you had a great vacation! I love traveling ๐Ÿ™‚ That sucks though that your college would do that. I would think it would give them a really bad reputation to do that to students :/

  8. 15 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) August 2, 2015 at 7:39 PM

    I got robbed on so many classes my sophomore year because we had last pick that year too! Madness. I’m glad you got into a computer science class though, that system sounds really frustrating.

    I wasn’t a huge fan of Snow Like Ashes either. Are you going to review it? I’d love to read your thoughts! And happy three year! We started right around the same time ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 16 Leigh @ Little Book Star August 2, 2015 at 7:43 PM

      Damn. I feel you, Alise. I guess sophomore is the worst year to be in in college lol. And yes! I was SO NOT DOWN to take a 9:45 pm class! First of all, I’d be sleepy as hell and second, it’s scary to walk at night!
      Yup I already wrote my review so expect a ranty review coming your way this month haha. Woohoo #twinning! Thank you ๐Ÿ˜€

      • 17 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) August 2, 2015 at 8:11 PM

        Ahaha, it does seem to be, at least for classes. Man, they seriously have those? We have the opposite-classes that start at 6am which is No Fun. I had a three hour biology lab that started at 7am and I’m pretty sure it took a few years off my life.

        Awesome! I’ll be looking forward to it!

  9. 18 Nirvana August 3, 2015 at 12:15 AM

    ooh, this seems like a pretty good reading month for you. I didn’t get much done this month, because I haven’t had many print books lately, and I don’t like ebooks much. I BLAME MY READING SLUMP. Good to say that I’m out of it by now though ๐Ÿ˜‰ California City sounds AWESOME. The majority of my month consisted of me burrowing in my cave like a hermit XD Lovely post, Leigh โค

  10. 20 Rabiah August 3, 2015 at 9:01 AM

    Congrats on 3 years of blogging! WOOHOO!
    Looks like youโ€™ve been super productive with reading!! AND THE PERCY JACKSON SERIES!!! A re-read is so in order for me… and I need to pick up THE LOST HERO lol. Sad that you didnโ€™t like SNOW LIKE ASHES! Iโ€™ve heard so many good things about it. Oh well. I have DUMPLIN and THIS IS HOW IT ENDS to read as well, so I canโ€™t wait to get to both of them. Have a fabulous August!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. 22 Aneeqah August 3, 2015 at 5:49 PM

    GIRL, 8 books!! That is a fantastic number! I, alas, didn’t get to read as much as I had hoped, just because I was so busy with getting my license and I also went on vacation. I’m so glad you’re able to binge read the PJO series- ALL TIME FAVE. Can’t wait to see what you’ll think of the Heroes of Olympus! I’m sad to hear you didn’t enjoy Snow Like Ashes, though, since I’ve been wanting to get my hands on that one for such a long time now. Super jealous that you got to read This Is Where It Ends and Dumplin, I’m REALLY looking forward to those!

    Happy blogoversary chica! <33 3 years is such a fantastic milestone. And don't worry about the readathons- I'm such a picky reader as well. Good luck with school- I also start the 24th.

    Lovely post! I hope that August is an awesome month for you. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • 23 Leigh @ Little Book Star August 3, 2015 at 9:58 PM

      Thanks Aneeqah! I used to read way more but for some reason ever since 2015, I’ve been on an on/off slump. That’s so cool! I was working on driving last month as well and went on vacations too! #TWINNING Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

