Review: 172 Hours On the Moon by Johan Harstad

15790843 Genre: YA Sci-Fi
Published: May 21, 2013 by Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Length: 351 pages
Source: bought

It’s been decades since anyone set foot on the moon. Now three ordinary teenagers, the winners of NASA’s unprecedented, worldwide lottery, are about to become the first young people in space–and change their lives forever. Mia, from Norway, hopes this will be her punk band’s ticket to fame and fortune. Midori believes it’s her way out of her restrained life in Japan. Antoine, from France, just wants to get as far away from his ex-girlfriend as possible.
It’s the opportunity of a lifetime, but little do the teenagers know that something sinister is waiting for them on the desolate surface of the moon. And in the black vacuum of space… no one is coming to save them.
In this chilling adventure set in the most brutal landscape known to man, highly acclaimed Norwegian novelist Johan Harstad creates a vivid and frightening world of possibilities we can only hope never come true.”

review

If you are a huge fan of sci-fi books with mystery and suspense, you’ve got to read 172 Hours on the Moon! It is written in 3rd person point of view which enhances the already existing mysterious vibe. It has 3 different point of views: Mia’s, Midori’s, and Antoine’s. I know that it is hard for some readers to follow 3 different perspectives, but it is very easy to differentiate the three protagonists. What I like about this book is that we’re given a background of the three main characters before they win the trip to the moon.

This book was really hard to put down since I was eager to know why they shouldn’t go to the moon. What was sinister about it? Will they ever survive? I just had to keep on reading even though it was late at night and I was super scared lol. I love the twist and turns that happened in the book especially the ending. One thing I did not enjoy though was the romance. It was so unrealistic and unbelievable. Good thing it was a minor part of the story! Overall I recommend this book to anyone who’d love a good scare! It’s hard to put down and is one of those books that will get you out of a reading slump.

4 of 5

12 Responses to “Review: 172 Hours On the Moon by Johan Harstad”


  1. 1 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity February 18, 2015 at 7:19 PM

    I am definitely going to add this to the TBR since you recommended it to me when I was bemoaning the lack of sci-fi standalones 😀 I think it sounds really mysterious, especially since the moon seems dangerous but it isn’t outright revealed why.

    It’s a shame about the romance being unbelievable, but at least it’s a small part of the book, and didn’t hinder your enjoyment!

  2. 3 Bec (@bectineus) February 19, 2015 at 11:22 PM

    I’ve actually seen this around a lot, particularly on booktube, but with a different cover! Sci fi is a genre I don’t read enough of and this sounds quite thrilling and intriguing. And I’m glad the romance is only a small part of the plot! It’d probably be hard to enjoy the book if it took up much more of the plot, especially if it was unbelievable and annoying.

  3. 5 Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination February 25, 2015 at 12:27 PM

    I’ve never heard of this book before, but 172 Hours on the Moon sounds fabulous. Even though I don’t read too much sci-fi, I probably should because I’m currently revising a sci-fi novel. I love books with secrets lurking around every corner, and with multiple points of view, so this one sounds perfect. I’m not a fan of incessant creepy elements, but if a book is written well enough, that’s easy to overlook.

  4. 7 megan // adrift on vulcan February 26, 2015 at 6:35 AM

    I really enjoyed 172 Hours on the Moon! I read it around three years ago (whoa, time really flies) and yet it’s so memorable that I can still remember the overall story. Fans of sci-fi and/or thrillers definitely have to read this book!

    I know that it is hard for some readers to follow 3 different perspectives, but it is very easy to differentiate the three protagonists.” — I was so relieved that the multiple perspectives didn’t screw everything up. Usually they distance me from the characters so much that I’m not able to enjoy the story, but in this case, it worked really well and like you said, it was easy to differentiate the characters.

    Haha, I know, it’s surprising but the story got creepy at some points, too! I just loved the whole mystery behind it, and omg, the ending. The ending was fantastic. It just made me love the book even more. So glad that you enjoyed this too, Leigh! 😀

    • 8 Leigh (LittleBookStar) March 2, 2015 at 11:56 PM

      I can definitely see myself remembering the story after many years since it IS a memorable book! It just stands out for me since I have not yet read a lot of books that takes place on the moon. And yesss THAT ENDING! ERMAHGERD.

  5. 9 Erika Thorsen March 1, 2015 at 5:46 AM

    I haven’t ever heard of it before but this looks absolutely amazing, definitely adding to my TBR. I generally don’t read sc-fi but I’m going to give this one a go:)

    Awesome review as always, Leigh ❤

  6. 11 Sam March 1, 2015 at 4:36 PM

    Oh, this sounds great! When done right, I love multiple POVs, it’s a shame the romance was a let-down, but I still think I may enjoy this book! So glad you liked it, and thanks for the lovely review. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

